Washington Tattoo License

Washington Tattoo License

Tattooing without a Washington Tattoo License is illegal within the state and is subject to fines and penalties. How to get one? Let’s study the requirements together.

Requirements for Washington tattoo license

Actually, getting a Washington Tattoo License is a simple task with several steps.

First and foremost, you should be at least 18 years old. Secondly, all states require a bloodborne pathogens active certificate. Washington is not an exception. This certification is the most important factor, as it’s a part of the federal OSHA 29 CFR 1910.1030 bloodborne pathogens standard. You’ll gain knowledge and skills to protect yourself and others when working. There are various online courses available that teach you how bloodborne infections are spread, how to avoid exposure, and what to do if it happened. However, before enrolling in a course, make sure it meets your state’s regulations.

If you plan to work for your own business, you have to hold a state business license as well.

How to get a license to tattoo?

When you have a clear understanding of what you require and why you can begin the main process.

It’s possible to apply both online and via mail. We will discuss them step by step.


You should have a Secure Access Washington (SAW) account if you are applying online. Fill in the application, pay the appropriate fee and wait for a response. Usually, it takes about 14 working days to process the request. After the approval, you’ll receive your papers at the e-mail address mentioned in the application.

By Mail

When applying by mail, you need to fill in the application. Attach the payment receipt and bloodborne pathogens certificate. Mail the package to:

Tattoo, Body Art, Body Piercing Program
Department of Licensing
PO Box 35001
Seattle, WA 98124-3401

When applying by mail, your application will be processed within 45 working days.

Washington State Department of Health is the regulatory body. Upon completion of an application and payment of the proper fee, the director will issue it.

How to master body art?

There is no required education or qualification for becoming an artist. However, if you want to enhance your skills and have a better understanding of the industry, it’s better to take classes or do an apprenticeship. You can start with self-education and online courses. Take art classes, for example, and learn the basics of graphic design. It’s never late to earn a degree in art as well. Moreover, you can do an apprenticeship with a skilled and experienced mentor. You are to gain practical knowledge such as how to use an ink machine, how to keep the area sterile, how to communicate with the clients etc. However, you should consider having enough funds to pay for the program.

The costs vary depending on the reputation of the artist. Free apprenticeships are rare. This career is well worth the effort because it is both challenging and well-paid. The average salary in WA for this profession is around $44,000. Of course, it varies based on such things as education, experience, certification, and other factors.

How to renew the Washington tattoo license?

The permit is valid for a year after issuance. If you want to renew the permit, you should pay $250. If there is a need, should answer legal background questions. It’s possible to start the renewal process 120 days before the expiration. It’s important to know that there is a late fee of $350 if you renew it after it expires.


  • Permit-$250
  • Renewal-$250 ($350 if late)
  • Print-$5


Currently, this profession is very competitive. You are not mandated to have any degree; the only thing is the permit which is easy to get. If you really want to master it, don’t waste your time.

Nune G

Nune G

Hello World! I'm comparatively new in content writing but have a great desire to learn and practice. This is a whole new world for me and I already like what I do. I like doing research, as on the way to that you read and learn things that you've never paid attention to.